Sachse lab

Electron cryomicroscopy of autophagy complexes

Lab members

Carsten Sachse

Carsten Sachse
Carsten Sachse. I am currently a director of the newly founded Ernst-Ruska-Centre 3 for Structural Biology at the Forschungszentrum Jülich. I was a group leader at the EMBL from 2010 - 2018. I got in touch with electron cryomicroscopy by studying amyloid fibrils in the groups of Marcus Fändrich (now in Ulm, Germany) and Niko Grigorieff (now at Janelia Farm, USA). For my postdoctoral period, I went to the MRC Laboratory of Molecular Biology (Cambridge, UK) to work with Richard Henderson and Roger Williams. In the last few years, we set up a group to study the mechanisms of autophagy by electron cryomicroscopy. Traditionally, I have been interested in the advancement of high-resolution single-particle EM with a particular focus on helical reconstruction. These developments have lead to our recent helical processing software package Spring.

Sabrina Berkamp

Stacks Image 239
I joined the Sachse lab as a postdoc in August 2018, where I'm working on the structural biology of the autophagy cargo receptor p62. I obtained a bachelor’s degree in Chemistry and master’s degree in Molecular and Cellular Life Sciences from Utrecht University, the Netherlands. As part of my master, I did research in the lab of Emmanuel Wiertz at the University Medical Center Utrecht, where I studied immune evasion by herpes viruses. I completed my PhD in the Opella lab at the University of California, San Diego. There, I studied the structural and dynamical changes in the chemokine Interleukin-8 when it binds to the G Protein-Coupled Receptor CXCR1 using solution and solid-state NMR spectroscopy.

Maximilian Beckers

Stacks Image 524
Maximilian Beckers. I am a PhD-student and joined the group in August 2016. With degrees both in mathematics and biochemistry my main interests are in both frequentist and bayesian statistical method development for biophysical data, especially for structure determination of macromeluclar complexes. My previous work was carried out in the group of Jens Michaelis at Ulm University where I worked in the FRETnps development team with a focus on MCMC methods and also at Boehringer Ingelheim in the Computational Chemistry group with a focus on molecular dynamics simulations and trajectory analysis.


Chiara Bertipaglia (PhD student), now Scientific Program Manager at Zuckerman Institute Columbia University (US)
Jaclyn Chan (Lab technician), now in Perth (AUS)
Rodolfo Ciuffa (PhD student), now Postdoc at ETH Zürich (CH)
Mairi Clarke (Lab manager), now Postdoc at Scottish Centre for Macromolecular Imaging Glasgow (UK)
Ambroise Desfosses (Postdoc), now Postdoc at IBS Grenoble (FR)
Audrey Guesdon (Postdoc), now in Montpellier (FR)
Marie Kirsten (Postdoc), now at Nspm Ltd (CH)
Goran Kokic (Internship 2014), now at Max Planck Institute of Biophysical Chemistry Göttingen (DE)
Arjen Jakobi (Postdoc), now Assistent Professor at Bionanoscience TU Delft (NL)
Jan Kosinski (Postdoc), now Group Leader at EMBL Hamburg/CSSB (DE)
Tanja Kuhm (Internship 2016 and Master thesis 2017), now at Heidelberg University (DE)
Lena Muckenfuss (Internship 2016), now at Zürich University (CH)
Arvind Ravichandran (Postdoc), now in India
Sofia Rybina (Lab technician), now in Heidelberg (DE)
Sarah Schneider (PhD student), now Postdoc at Imperial College London (UK)
Abul Tarafder (Lab manager 2012 - 2017), now Investigator Scientist at Oxford University (Sir William Dunn School of Pathology) (UK)
Shirley Tremel (Master student 2016), now PhD at MRC-LMB Cambridge (UK)
Willem Tichelaar (Postdoc), now at University of Ulm (DE)
Laura Woodward (Postdoc), now at Angewandte Chemie (DE)